Three levels of wastewater treatment

November 27, 2021

A complete and efficient wastewater treatment system can be divided into three levels: primary treatment, secondary treatment and tertiary treatment.


1.Primary treatment

The primary treatment is the bottom of the whole wastewater treatment system, which is mainly used to remove the large suspended solids in the water. Physical method is most frequently used. Alum or carbon block is usually used to remove the large suspended solids in the wastewater. The adsorbed wastewater will enter the secondary treatment.


2.Secondary treatment

Secondary treatment refers to remove the colloidal and dissolved organic pollutants in the water with biochemical treatment method, and precipitate the organic pollutants in the water. The treated sewage basically meets the discharge requirements and can meet the recycling requirements for specific purposes.


3. Tertiary treatment.

The tertiary treatment is the highest level of wastewater treatment. Wastewater will be decontaminated to the maximum in this process. Tertiary treatment, also known as advanced treatment, is mainly for dissolving organic matter and dissolved salts in wastewater that are difficult to be biodegraded. After this process, the water quality is good and can be directly put into use in industrial production, and the purpose of wastewater treatment is basically achieved.